Sign In

We want you to be able to access myAccount. However, the new, easy-to-use features in myAccount require you to enable cookies. Here are some shortcuts to help you with this:

Help for Chrome users. Help for Firefox users. For Internet Explorer users. For Safari users.

Once you have enabled cookies for this website, please refresh by clicking here.

Image of the Mandamin Scholarship recipients

In celebration of National Aboriginal Day, we recognized 14 outstanding students through our Leonard S. (Tony) Mandamin Scholarship.

Thomas Morningstar, Mckayla Tate and Rhode Thomas (pictured left) are three of this year's recipients and currently working at Hydro One as part of the scholarship opportunity.

Thomas is from Mississauga First Nation, and cu
rrently working in our Environmental Services team. As a student who works full time to support his education, he says the scholarship will help alleviate some of the stress.

hode, Haudenosaunee (Cayuga) and Ojibwe, sought out Trent University for their Indigenous program after completing a diploma and entering the workforce with the Aboriginal Professional Association of Canada.

Rhode is currently working in Indigenous Relations and says, "I've had a great experience working at Hydro One and have learned many aspects of the company and this business because Indigenous relations is involved in every aspect of our work."

Mckayla Tate is Métis​ and studying Biomedical Engineering at Guelph University. She started working at Hydro One in May with our Transmission & Stations Engineering team, which involves building and maintaining stations. "This scholarship means a lot to me and shows how much Hydro One supports and encourages Indigenous youth as well as the company's commitment to workingwith Indigenous communities."

"Our scholarship winners not only exceed in academic excellence but also in their commitment to supporting their communities which is important to recognize," said Derek Chum, Vice President of Indigenous Relations. "The Leonard S. (Tony) Mandamin Scholarship is one of the ways Hydro One supports and encourages students to stay in school and explore opportunities within the electricity industry."

As part of our celebration, Elder George Kakeway and Young Creek singers shared a smudging ceremony as well as drum teachings and songs.

This year's scholarship recipients are:
  • Robert Young, Métis, Business Administration, York University

  • Trevor McQuillan, Métis, Bachelors of Art with Majors in Economics and Mathematics and a minor in Computer Science, Laurentian University

  • Christine Gilliard, Métis, Electrical Engineering Technologist, Georgian College

  • Samantha Pruden, Métis, Business Commerce, University of Ontario Institute of Technology

  • Janet LaVoie, Métis, Business Admin, Lambton College

  • Mckayla Tate, Métis, Biomedical Engineering, Guelph University

  • Kylea Smart, Mohawk, Business Admin HR, Loyalist College

  • Benjamin Robitaille, Métis, Science in Forestry, Lakehead University

  • Thomas Morningstar, Ojibwe, Indigenous Education, Fleming College

  • Skylar Manitowabi, Anishinaabe-Odawa, Construction Engineering Technician Program, Algonquin College

  • Thomas Turcotte, Métis, Computer Programmer, Sault College

  • Trysten Thompson, Mohawk, Business Marketing, Algonquin College

  • Rhode Thomas, Haudenosaunee (Cayuga), Ojibwe, Business Administration,

  • Trent University

  • Amira Gill, Inuk, Civil Engineering, Queen's University

Each year, up to 15 scholarships are available to students enrolled in electricity related programs. Scholarship recipients are granted a financial award in the amount of $5,000 and those eligible may have an opportunity to complete a paid developmental work term with Hydro One. Interested students can visit ​Students Awards & Scholarships to learn more and apply.​

Have a story to tell?

We'd love to hear from you!