The regional planning process, which enables transparent, coordinated, and cost-effective planning of regional electricity infrastructure, was mandated by the Ontario Energy Board (OEB) in 2013 through amendments to the Transmission System Code (TSC) and Distribution System Code (DSC). The Planning Process Working Group (PPWG) — a group of industry stakeholders — developed and released its Working Group Report to the Board, setting out the new regional planning process.

The regional planning process is undertaken in 21 regions in Ontario, and prioritized into three groups based on anticipated needs: Group 1, Group 2, and Group 3. The priority of a region may change based on new and relevant information from stakeholders such as Local Distribution Companies (LDCs).

For the 20 regions where Hydro One is identified as the lead transmitter, our primary roles are to conduct a Needs Assessment (NA) and to develop a Regional Infrastructure Plan (RIP). We look at supply and reliability issues at a regional level to address local needs.

The status of regional planning activities and completed regional planning reports are provided on this website. The website will be updated on an ongoing basis as plans are developed and results become available. Our website links to relevant documents on the Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO) and OEB websites. These coordinated websites will provide a complete picture regarding the regional planning status for each of the regions. Click on a region’s map or name below to show more details and related documents for the region.

For more information about the regional planning process, please follow links to OEB websites below, or email us. We also file an Annual Status Report with the OEB to provide a summary of the regional planning status in the province. The reports are published below:

More details and documents may be viewed by mousing over a region and clicking on the coloured circle. Filter your view by unchecking the boxes below.

Group 1    Group 2    Group 3